Join APTA | Print Page | Sign In | Register
Fall Conference 2017 Recap
Share |
NCPTA Fall Conference Recap

Over 500 physical therapists, physical therapy assistants, students, and exhibitors attended the NCPTA Fall Conference in Winston Salem at the newly renovated Benton Convention Center. Teepa Snow, OT, and internationally acclaimed expert on dementia, entertained the keynote luncheon audience with issues related to treating dementia patients. 

Elections results were announced at the end of the business meeting. The following people were elected to the following offices:

Vice President - Mary Kay Hannah, PT, DPT
Director at Large - Payer Relations - Flo Moses, PT
Director at Large - Practice - Jennifer Martin, PT, MS, DPT, GCS   
Director at Large - PTA - Crystal Morris, PTA
Nominating Committee - David Edwards, PT, DPT
                                           Tyler Schultz, PT, DPT, OCS
Scholarship and Loan - Jerusha Allen, PT, DPT
                                         Joel Sattgast, PT, DPT, OCS 
Delegates - Eileen Carter, PT, DPT  
                    Deidra Debham, PT, DPT, CSCS   
                    Mary Kay Hannah, PT, DPT 
                    Calvin Hung, PT     
                    Dean McCall, PT, OCS 
                    Patti Rode, PT, DPT - 1st alternate
                    Todd Telemeco, PT, DPT, PhD, ECS - 2nd alternate

NCPTA congratulates the newly-elected and thanks to everyone who ran for office.

A series of by-laws revisions were passed by the membership at the NCPTA Business meeting including a dues increase, a change in the timing of chapter elections, and a change as to when newly-elected officers, delegates, and nominating committee members take office. The dues increase will go into effect in 2019. Elections will now be held following the Fall Conference which will allow people to be nominated at the business meeting, and voting will take place after the Fall Conference. Newly elected individuals will take office on January 1 the next year to allow a transition time. 

Founder's Lecture Kathy Arney, who spoke at the Awards Reception, urged therapists to be, and stay, engaged. Other awards presented at the reception were:

Excellence in Clinical Practice - Todd Watson, DPT, OCS, FAAOMPT
Outstanding Physical Therapist - Vicki Stemmons Mercer, PT, PhD
Darlene M. Sekerak Award - Scott Gibson, PT, OCS
Founders' Lectureship - Kevin Brueilly, PT, PhD
Ben F. Massey, Jr. Public Service Award - Representative Szoka and
                                                                        Senator Louis Pate
President's Award - David Edwards, PT, DPT
Ben Massey Scholarship - Caroline Cleveland, SPT

Poster winners were as follows:
1st Place - The Effects of Ankle Mobilizations on Static Balance Performance - Sales K, Durland A, Lin C, Langdon J Adams R ECU
2nd Place - Evaluation of Asymmetry in Lower Limbs of Roller Derby Athletes - Cheramie E, Battle B, Bonner A, Eye A, Henderson A, Bunn J Campbell
3rd Place - High Intensity, Variable Stepping Training Improved Balance in a Person with Chronic Traumatic Brain Injury Meyer J, Gwaltney T, Freund J ELon

Congratulations to all the award winners.

A Quiz Bowl with teams made up of Student PTs and PTAs and PTs and PTAs was held on Thursday night and the winners were 1st Place - Wingate University DPT; 2nd Place - WCU; 3rd Place - WCU.

Afun time was had by all and we look forward to everyone joining us next year in Greensboro at the Koury Center from October 18 - 20.